Zu den Inhalten springen


Anesthesiology and Critical Care

Anesthesiology is an integral part of health care delivery. An experienced team of highly qualified anesthetists in our clinic will care for your well-being during your surgery and stay in the intensive care unit. Our team consists of physicians, nurses and support staff who have received top training and have specialized knowledge, skills and experience. Their goal is to make your treatment as convenient and comfortable as possible for you.

The Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care is responsible for the well-being of more than 32,000 patients per year. The Department is also actively involved in scientific developments in the field of medical technologies and offers a distance learning Master’s program called Physikalisch-Technische Medizin.

Diagnostic & Treatment Services

Medical services are provided for every type of surgery or diagnostic intervention.


  • General anesthesia (medically induced coma, full body anesthesia)

  • Local anesthesia (specific parts of the body)

  • Regional anesthesia (larger regions of the body, including epidurals, spinal anesthesia, and peripheral nerve blocks)

Intensive Care Medicine

  • Full range of intensive care services

  • Extracorporeal Lung Assist System (ECLA)

  • Every kind of organ-replacement therapy

  • Air rescue and transport for intensive care patients

Pain Therapy

  • Chronic pain syndrome treatment
  • Neuropathic pain
  • Cancer pain syndrome treatment


anesthesia procedures per year34.000
anesthetic workstations83
patients with cronic pain syndrome per year3.500
patients in the intensive care clinic per year2.400

Our physicians

  • Prof. Dr. Hartmut Bürkle

    Medical Director

  • Dr. Alexander Benner

  • Dr. Christoph Jäger

  • Dr. Tobias Broß

  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Heinrich

  • Dr. Maika Biever

  • Dr. Joachim Bansbach

  • Prof. Dr. Alexander Hötzel

  • Dr. Frank Humburger

  • Dr. Johannes Kalbhenn

  • Dr. Heike Kaltofen

  • Dr. Vadim Kehm

  • Prof. Dr. Torsten Loop

  • Dr. Klaus Offner

  • Dr. Axel Schmutz

  • PD Dr. Christian Schwer

  • Dr. Anu Maria Huotari

  • Dr. Daniel Leitz

  • Prof. Dr. Nils Schallner

  • Dr. Alexander Grimm

  • PD Dr. Martin Schick

  • Dr. Axel Semmelmann

  • PD Dr. Johannes Spaeth

  • PD Dr. med. Felix Ulbrich