Zu den Inhalten springen


Cardiology and Angiology

Cardiology and Angiology

Our two Departments of Cardiology and Angiology in Freiburg and Bad Krozingen provide the whole spectrum of diagnostic and treatment services of the heart and arterial vessel diseases. We treat heart valve diseases, arrhythmias, aortic diseases and cardiac coagulation problems. Our physicians closely cooperate with specialists from other clinics of the Medical Center - University of Freiburg.

Our doctors and nurses are proficient in the latest medical techniques and have the necessary experience and technical equipment at their disposal to offer each patient individual and comprehensive treatment. We look after and advise our patients during the entire treatment process – from admission and diagnosis to therapy and aftercare. As a university institution, we offer the expertise of our colleagues from the Medical Center - University of Freiburg, ensuring that our patients receive the highest quality treatment available.

Besides general invasive and noninvasive cardiological treatment, the main focus of our heart center is the treatment of patients suffering from acute heart attacks and chronic coronary heart diseases with catheter technology.

Our team of experts for treating structural and congenital cardiovascular diseases (the ISAH team - Intervention for Structural and Congenital Cardiovascular Diseases) ensures that patients receive the best possible treatment.



Location Freiburg

inpatient wards6
surgeries per yearmore than 2.000

  • 3 intensive-care units
  • 3 operation rooms
  • 5.000 catheter procedures per year
  • 3 heart catheter laboratories/24-hours

Location Bad Krozingen

inpatient wards10
surgeries per yearmore than 2.600

  • 2 intensive-care units
  • 3 operation rooms
  • 17.000 catheter procedures per year
  • 9 heart catheter laboratories/24-hours

Our physicians

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Manfred Zehender

  • PD Dr. Ingo Hilgendorf

  • Prof. Dr. Constantin von zur Mühlen

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Moser

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Hehrlein

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Arentz

  • Dr. Ulrich Beschorner

  • PD Dr. Miroslaw Ferenc

  • Dr. Börries Jacques

  • Dr. Matthias Knittel

  • Dr. Elias Noory

  • Dr. Roland Schmitz

  • Dr. Christian Marc Valina

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Zeller